Really From

Really From  
p: Sam Tassey


Really From aims to explore themes of place, self, and genuine emotion through music as their creative, unifying outlet. The Boston-based band derive their sound from influences like Philip Glass, Japanese Math Rock, Avante-Garde Jazz, and Minimalism. Over the years, they have gone through several lineup changes but now consist of Chris Lee-Rodriguez on guitar and vocals, Michi Tassey on synth bass, keys, and vocals, Matt Hull on trumpet and Sander Bryce on Drums. Instrumental improvisation and raw vulnerability underlie the diverse collective’s refined musicality without sounding like a gimmick.

tour dates:

listen or purchase:

order: download: stream:



  • Chris Lee-Rodriguez (Guitar, Vocals)
  • Michi Tassey (Keys, Vocals)
  • Sander Bryce (Drums)
  • Matt Hull (Trumpet, Flugelhorn)

recent updates:


"[A] fusion of jazz musicianship, emo spirit, and indie-pop tunefulness so coherent that even the ugly parts are beautiful in their precision."

"Mysterious, pretty and distinct, 'Variations on an Aria' could hold as a testament of a truly unique blend of pop, punk and jazz for the summer."

"Tender but never timid, elegant but still forceful."

If you enjoy Really From, we think you might also like:

also available:

a hand-picked mix of Really From merch and related titles. view all →