By Surprise Mountain Smashers



Something not available? Get emailed if it becomes available again.

Track List:

  1. Books By Thoreau
  2. Realometer
  3. Mostly Harmless
  4. Last Chance To See
  5. Photoshoot
  6. Fountain Splashers
  7. $600 Exorcism
  8. So Long and Thanks For All The Sharkjaws
  9. Daggermouth Is Playing At My House
  10. Hanging Out With Wendy In Sulikland
  11. Direct Loans

Pressing Info:

first press: /542; 96 Smoke, 446 Black (20 test presses)


The band’s first full-length album, Mountain Smashers, romanticizes with the feelings of reluctance we’ve all felt towards growing up, slowing down, losing touch, and selling out. Clocking in at thirty minutes, it combines both the influence of those dusty 7” records, often overlooked, with the lessons learned from the aforementioned authors. It admits defeat, while exuding reassurance. It questions the norms, while embracing the inevitable. The guitars are loud and the feedback bleeds, the vocals clash in uniformed motion, and the lyrics are kind of weird. It’s by far the band’s most focused effort to date, and in some ways, it’s their most adventurous.

All purchases come with your choice of a FLAC, ALAC, MP3 320, MP3 VBR or AAC 256 download.

TSR034. Released April 5, 2011

By Surprise merch:

view all »