END OF YEAR SALE - now through Monday 11/29, full shop 21% off, no code required.→

Subscription Gift Cards recent re-presses Running Club second look singles 10% off 25% off 50% off 2020 2021

Bellows Next of Kin



Please note: All Vinyl is a pre-order and won't ship until around April 20, 2022!

"As Green As Possible" Vinyl: manufactured with recycled, recyclable, and biodegradable materials, and green energy.
There is an immediate and palpable sense of joy that jumps out from Next of Kin, the fifth full-length album from bedroom recording project Bellows. But the record is steeped equally in loss: loss of family, beloved dogs, friendships, romantic love, and most of all loss of selfhood. Backwardly inspired by the wealth of loss, Next of Kin sees songwriter Oliver Kalb discovering a renewed sense of appreciation for life in the face of hardship, freshly emboldened to move through the world with a loosened grip on life: “I’m not its master, I give up the fight, I want no claim”, Kalb writes in “Death of Dog”.

While foundationally a rock album, Next of Kin has a magical iridescence. Oscillating and shifting dramatically between sounds and genres over its fourteen song tracklist, the album glistens with sheens of alt-country, pristine pop production, and richly layered rock maximalism. The first Bellows album to feature a constant full-band presence bolstering Kalb’s home recordings, the album channels the immediacy and intensity of the band’s live performances. Songs like “McNally Jackson” and “Dawn at Central Park” marry Kalb’s penchant for contemplative, almost literary narration with lavish, kinetic composition. But it’s Next of Kin’s climax “Thumb in the Dam” that is the album’s thematic centerpiece: as Kalb realizes he’s lost a sense of his own selfhood in a deeply enmeshed romance, crossing and confusing identities with a lost love, the album ends with a recognition of identity as perpetually in flux, with change itself being the only constant force.

All purchases come with your choice of a FLAC, ALAC, MP3 320, MP3 VBR or AAC 256 download.

Please note: This item is a pre-order and will not be available until it is manufactured and delivered to us. We will send download codes on or just before that time.

Live in the UK or Europe? This item might be available in our UK shop, with more affordable shipping for you.

Pressing Info:

first press:
/250 - 180g transparent glass
/150 - 180g black
/100 - 180g transparent green

Listen Elsewhere:

download: stream:

Track List:

  1. Marijuana Grow
  2. No One Wants to Be Without a Person to Love
  3. My Best Friend
  4. Rancher's Pride
  5. Death of Dog
  6. McNally Jackson
  7. Such a Secret
  8. Biggest Deposit of White Quartz
  9. Dawn at Central Park
  10. Beautiful Spring Day
  11. In a Ballet
  12. Admiration
  13. Thumb in the Dam
  14. Botticelli's Venus
If you enjoy Bellows, we think you might also like:

also available:

a hand-picked mix of bellows merch and related titles. view all →