Subscription Gift Cards Newsletter Shop Updates Catalog List ~random~ mystery recently re-pressed second look 2022 2023

Sobs Telltale Signs + Catflap


Something not available? Try our Bandcamp or get emailed if it becomes available again.


Originally released on July 27, 2018, we have imported copies of Sobs' Telltale Signs from Japan's Impartmaint Inc.. The record also includes the band's Catflap EP on the B-side. We only have 20 copies and when they're gone, they're gone!

Weaving a sound well beyond the confines of their bedroom pop beginnings, Singapore-based trio Sobs captures an awkward yet endearing introversion, their music replete with playful melodies that front a dream pop backdrop. One of Asia’s brightest sparks in indie pop, Sobs have inspired cult followings in the US and Southeast Asia in 2017 with their EP Catflap. On its hit single ‘Girl’, unassuming vocals adorn crisp layers of jangling guitars that embody a kitsch, yet undeniably relatable charm.

But as much as Sobs’ songs shimmer with pop immediacy, sombre undertones cloud the buoyant tunes. Frontwoman Celine Autumn’s voice is at once both pastel and haunting as she reminisces on desires and dreams with affecting frankness, drawing comparisons to the likes of Alvvays and Frankie Cosmos. In this juxtaposition, the band finds itself walking a fine line between the ebullience of high-spirited indie rock and the tense anxiety of restless melancholia. Their debut full-length Telltale Signs further reinforces the contrast with infectiously energetic guitar lines atop of lyrics telling stories of bittersweet love and a yearning for escape.

Fresh off a successful tour around Southeast Asia featuring the likes of Peach Pit, Mellow Fellow and Sunset Rollercoaster, Sobs are set to venture beyond with Telltale Signs.

Side A: Telltale Signs
  1. Vacation
  2. Astronomy
  3. Breakfast
  4. All Poison
  5. Party Song
  6. Sundae
Side B: Telltale Signs, cont.
  1. Eastbound
  2. Telltale Signs
  3. Catflap
  4. Hunchback
  5. Girl
  6. Catflap
  7. Fender
  8. Ocean Song

  • Artwork – Mich Cervantes
  • Band [Sobs Is] – Celine Autumn, Jared Lim, Raphael Ong
  • Bass – Zhang Bo
  • Drums, Percussion – Shaun Khiu
  • Guitar [Additional Guitars] – Daniel Castro Borces
  • Mastered By – Paul Gold
  • Photography By – Christopher Sim
  • Recorded By [Drums] – Edric Hwang
  • Recorded By, Producer, Mastered By – Sobs

If you enjoy Sobs, we think you might also like:

featured titles:

A hand-picked selection of highlights from the 200+ titles in our catalog. Spanning pop, to math rock, to hardcore, you're sure to find something you're into. view all →