Elephant Gym Underwater


On Underwater, Elephant Gym’s second full-length, there was no single composer overseeing the record. To the end of unlocking new sounds for themselves, each member took turns leading production and compositional roles during the creation of the album. The result is an expansive cohesion of diverse songs which flow in and out of one another like water. Vocal cameos by international collaborators provide another compelling dimension to the record, emboldening a group usually known for their instrumental compositions.

The band explains that “Underwater is an idea about a kind of private, mysterious space.” It’s a place where one may go to ponder or concentrate, to clear one’s head, or to just blow off some steam in solitude. So, too, is Underwater fundamentally about immersion: immersion in the chaos of feeling, living in the throes of being human-sized in the infinite expanse of existence. Elephant Gym deftly weaves this universal concept into their signature sound without ever pulling you out of your personal space, leaving you to yourself underwater.

Pressing Info:

first press:
/500 - Dark Mint w/ White Marble
/350 - Dark Blue in Mint color-in-color
/150 - Dark Blue/Light Blue half/half w/ Dark Blue Splatter

second press:
/1,000 - Light Blue/Black Aside/Bside

Listen or Purchase:

physical: download: stream:

Track List:

  1. Shower
  2. Underwater
  3. Satellite
  4. Half Asleep
  5. Bad Dream feat. Sowut
  6. Walk
  7. Shell feat. Cudjiy lja karivuwan
  8. Lake
  9. Quilt feat. Kento NAGATSUKA from WONK (International Collaboration Version)
  10. Walk
  11. Speechless
  12. Moonset feat. YeYe (International Collaboration Version)
  13. Midway (Rgry Remix)
If you enjoy Elephant Gym, we think you might also like:

also available:

a hand-picked mix of Elephant Gym merch and related titles. view all →