A Great Big Pile of Leaves Pono

tagged: indie rock rock
FFO: Minus the Bear, Oso Oso, Piebald, From Indian Lakes, Delta Sleep, Slaughter Beach, Dog


Brooklyn-bred A Great Big Pile of Leaves deals in 90’s tinged indie-rock that is brainy yet accessible. Founded by Pete Weiland and Tyler Soucy in 2007, the band expanded to include Tucker Yaro, writing and recording as a trio since the release of their self-produced and self-released debut album Have You Seen My Prefrontal Cortex? in 2010 - which was largely distributed via free download on the band’s website.

In 2013 A Great Big Pile of Leaves signed with Topshelf Records for the release of their Ed Ackerson (The Replacements, The Jayhawks) produced sophomore LP You’re Always On My Mind, which debuted across five Billboard charts and garnered critical acclaim from Pitchfork, NYLON, Stereogum, BrooklynVegan, Noisey, WNYC/NPR and more.

Produced by A Great Big Pile of Leaves and recorded primarily at their home studio, new album Pono was mixed by touring guitarist Matthew Weber at Gradwell House Recording and mastered by Dave Downham (Beach Slang, Into It. Over It.). With eight years between releases, the band recalls how the recording process of Pono felt like they were making their first record, adding “we worked at our own pace with no preconceived notion of what it needed to be.”

Pressing Info:

first press:
/900 - Marble Smoke
/300 - 180g Black
/300 - Splatter

Listen or Purchase:

physical: download: stream:

Track List:

  1. Yesterday's Clothes
  2. Hit Reset
  3. Beat Up Shoes
  4. Waiting for Your Love
  5. Halloween
  6. Kitchen Concert
  7. Swimmer
  8. Water Cycle
  9. Writing Utensils
  10. Simple Pleasures
If you enjoy A Great Big Pile of Leaves, we think you might also like:

also available:

a hand-picked mix of A Great Big Pile of Leaves merch and related titles. view all →