Crisman Crisman


Track List:

  1. Portrait
  2. Surprise
  3. Ocean
  4. Go
  5. Cya
  6. Interlude
  7. Rock
  8. Rain
  9. Icee Blue
  10. Pawn

Pressing Info:

first press:
/300 - Red / Yellow / Blue Tri-Stripe
/125 - Transparent Blue
/75 - 180g Black


While Madeline Dowd’s visual artwork playfully relays adult themes through childlike imagery, her band Crisman swaps the acrylics and spray paint for hazily-filtered vocals gently layered over slowcore arrangements to find yet another medium for masking emotional turmoil with innocence.

To coalesce this childlike playfulness into their musical identity, Crisman teamed up with tenured Denton musicians Grahm Robinson of MAH KEE OH and Dead Sullivan’s Truman “Boone” Patrello to record the band’s self-titled debut studio album. Contrasted against the juvenility of Crisman’s paintings, the band’s collective experience is refracted throughout the measured ten-song collection.

The melancholic and sinuous lead single “Surprise” pulls from childhood memories of wanting to be included and feeling misunderstood in order to lend its start-stop riffs an emotional touchstone. On “SeeYa,” the band employs acerbic distortion and twinkling arpeggios to explore the immaturity and inevitability of trying to forget a person or feeling that lingers far too long, where final single “IceeBlue” is about experiencing the infectiousness of a romance, a thematic reproduction of the song’s infectious composition.

All purchases come with your choice of a FLAC, ALAC, MP3 320, MP3 VBR or AAC 256 download.

TSR216. Released April 3, 2020

Also available:

view all »

  • Wild Ones - Heatwave
    Wild Ones
  • Field Mouse - Meaning
    Field Mouse
  • addy - Eclipse
  • Really From - Verse
    Really From
  • Donovan Wolfington - How To Treat The Ones You Love
    Donovan Wolfington
    How To Treat The Ones You Love
  • Alfred. - Like You!!
    Like You!!