Subscription Gift Cards Newsletter Shop Updates Catalog List ~random~ mystery recently re-pressed second look 2022 2023

Knifeplay Animal Drowning



Knifeplay’s sophomore full-length, and first ever studio album Animal Drowning is a sprawling landscape of shoegaze and lofty slowcore. The album finds the band in a blend of folk instruments, walls of distortion, orchestral strings and delicate vocals, all carefully organized by Philadelphia engineer/producer Jeff Zeigler, known for his work with Nothing, Kurt Vile, and more.

Though their sonic palette is vast, Knifeplay craft a cohesive aesthetic to carry frontman Tj Strohmer’s thematically heavy songwriting, which touches on loss of all kinds against the backdrop of a nihilistic world. These songs cry out with urgency no matter their ever-varied tempo and dynamic, each painting a unique vignette of tragedy. Yet the band’s dense, meticulously composed instrumentation exudes beauty, creating a lightness to balance the subject matter.

With Animal Drowning, Knifeplay goes deeper into the sonic experimentation and brutally honest lyricism so beloved on their early bedroom recordings, creating an enrapturing experience that deftly builds on previous work.

All purchases come with your choice of a FLAC, ALAC, MP3 320, MP3 VBR or AAC 256 download.

Please note: All vinyl includes 2 bonus tracks!

Pressing Info:

first press:
/900 - pink opaque
/700 - gothic red
/400 - 180g black

Listen Elsewhere:

download: stream:

Track List:

  1. Nobody
  2. Lonely Sun
  3. Promise
  4. Bleed
  5. Animal
  6. Deserve
  7. Hearts
  8. Ryan Song
  9. Untitled
  10. Cold Rain
If you enjoy Knifeplay, we think you might also like:

also available:

a hand-picked mix of knifeplay merch and related titles. view all →